Members

Our Members

CSES Members

Prof. Ross Bradstock
Director
P: +61 2 4221 5531
E: rossb@uow.edu.au  

Fire ecology
Conservation biology
Landscape ecology
Climate change

Senior Prof. Sharon Robinson
Director
P: +61 2 4221 5753
E: sharonr@uow.edu.au 

Monitoring plant responses at a range of levels, from the molecular to the ecological, to examine: how plants respond to Climate Change induced environmental stress in Antarctica and Australia (Plant Stress Ecophysiology); the mechanisms that allow thermoregulatory plants to maintain their flowers at temperatures well above ambient air temperatures (Hot Plants).

Prof. David Ayre
P: +61 2 4221 4266
E: dja@uow.edu.au

Evolutionary consequences of variation in the mating systems of terrestrial plants
Population genetics and marine ecology of invertebrates and fish
Behavioural Ecology - especially pollinator behaviour and behaviour of marine invertebrates

Dr Phillip Byrne
P: +61 2 4298 1932
E: pbyrne@uow.edu.au

Evolutionary biology
Behavioural ecology
Assisted reproductive technology
Anthropogenic impacts on animal behaviour
Amphibian ecology

A/Prof. Laurie Chisholm
P: +61 2 4221 3765
E: lauriec@uow.edu.au 

The application of remote sensing, GIS, and advanced modelling techniques to investigate impacts of both natural and anthropogenic disturbances on the dynamics of ecological systems.

Dr Hamish Clarke
P: +61 2 4221 5729
E: hamishc@uow.edu.au

Bushfire risk, climate change impacts, environmental management

Prof. Andy  Davis
P: +61 2 4221 3432
E: adavis@uow.edu.au 

Ecology of invertebrate larvae
Chemical ecology
Defensive strategies in marine invertebrates
Human impacts on natural systems, including the impact of introduced marine pests
Structure and dynamics of invertebrate assemblages
Pattern and determinants of biodiversity

Dr Anastasia Dalziell
E: anastasia_dalziell@uow.edu.au

 

Prof. Kris French
P: +61 2 4221 3655
E: kris@uow.edu.au 

How anthropogenic disturbances interrupt populations and communities (from plants through to insect and vertebrates and from arid grasslands, forests, and dunes to plantations). 

Dr Chris Friesen
E: cfriesen@uow.edu.au

 

Mr Chris Gorden
E: gordonc@uow.edu.au

 

Dr Emily Howells
E: ehowells@uow.edu.au

 

Dr Bethany Hoye
P: +61 2 4252 8209
E: bethany_hoye@uow.edu.au

Disease ecology and migration biology, including:
i) Transmission of pathogens and symbionts in wildlife; ii) Impact of pathogens and symbionts on animal performance; iii) Ecological disturbance and animal movements; and iv) Ecological consequences of animal migrations.

Dr Meaghan Jenkins
P: +61 2 4298 1140
E: mjenkins@uow.edu.au

Fire ecology, soil-plant interactions, bushfire fuels, pyrogenic carbon, biogeochemistry.

Dr Kimberly Maute
P: +61 2 4252 8522
E: kmaute@uow.edu.au

Bird conservation and ecophysiology
Pesticide impacts on native fauna

Dr Katarina Mikac
P: +61 2 4221 4266
E: kmikac@uow.edu.au

 

Biosecurity/Quarantine Entomology
Population genetics and DNA diagnostics
Wildlife genetics
Ecology of threatened mammals

A/Prof. Todd Minchinton
P: +61 2 4221 5188 
E: tminch@uow.edu.au 

Population and community ecology of benthic invertebrates, insects, and plants in coastal terrestrial, marine, and estuarine habitats.
Importance of dispersal, habitat selection, and colonisation to the structure and dynamics of populations and communities.
Influence of natural and anthropogenic disturbance on recruitment, population dynamics, and species diversity.
Predicting how humans will destroy the planet and developing conservation strategies to avoid this.

Dr Owen Price
P: +61 2 4221 5424
E: oprice@uow.edu.au 

Bushfire Risk management, Landscape ecology, Spatial Analysis, Conservation Biology

Dr Aimee Silla
P: +61 2 4221 3149
E: aimee_silla@uow.edu.au 

 

Dr Johanna Turnbull
P: +61 2 4298 1146
E: johanna_turnbull@uow.edu.au

 

A/Prof James Wallman
P: +61 2 4221 4911
E: jwallman@uow.edu.au 

Evolution and biology of Diptera, especially Calliphoridae
Forensic entomology

Dr Melinda Waterman
P: +61 2 4221 5373
E: melindaw@uow.edu.au 

Organic chemistry
Environmental science and management
Plant biology

Dr Joshua Whittaker
P: +61 2 4298 1164
E: wjoshua@uow.edu.au 

Human geography 

Dr Marian Wong
P: +61 2 4221 3574
E: marianw@uow.edu.au 

Behavioural ecology of marine and freshwater fishes.
Conservation biology of marine and freshwater fishes.
Tropical and temperate fish ecology, life history and physiology.

Dr Philip Zylstra
P: +61 2 4221 5041
E: philip_zylstra@uow.edu.au 

Ecology 

CSES Associate Members

Dr Mick Ashcroft  

School of Biological Sciences, UOW

Dr Tony Auld 

Office of Environment and Heritage, NSW

Dr Michael Bedward 

School of Biological Sciences, UOW

Professor William Buttner 

School of Biological Sciences, UOW

Mr Andrew Denham 

Office of Environment and Heritage, NSW

Dr Ben Gooden 

CSIRO

Professor Tony Hulbert 

School of Biological Sciences, UOW

A/Professor Di Jolley

School of Chemistry, UOW

Dr Zbynek Malenovsky

UTAS

Professor Barry Osmond 

School of Biological Sciences, UOW

Dr Natalie Rosser 

School of Biological Sciences, UOW

Dr Elizabeth Tasker 

OEH

Last reviewed: 27 August, 2018