Members

CAC Cluster Photo

Centre for Atmospheric Chemistry Group Photo 2015

Members

CAC Members

A/Prof Clare Murphy
Director
P: +61 2 4221 5065
E: clarem@uow.edu.au 

Remote sensing of atmospheric composition using ground-based Fourier-transform spectroscopy. Atmospheric impacts of bushfires. Understanding sources and fates of trace gases in the atmosphere and impacts on air quality.

View my publications button for Clare Murphy

A/Prof. Adam Trevitt
Deputy Director
P: +61 2 4221 5545
E: adamt@uow.edu.au 

Laser chemistry and spectroscopy. Reaction dynamics and kinetics of radicals and ions. Synchrotron photoionization mass spectrometry. Combustion chemistry. Microdroplet tweezers and mass spectrometry.

View my publications button for Adam Trevitt

Dr. Nicholas Deutscher
P: +61 2 4221 4104
E: ndeutsch@uow.edu.au 

Column and surface measurements of greenhouse gases. Novel profiling applications of greenhouse gases measurement techniques.  Atmospheric transport modelling of greenhouse gases. Combining multiple scale and multiple tracers to optimise flux estimates within atmospheric transport models.

View my publications button for Nicholas Deutscher

Dr. Jenny Fisher
P: +61 2 4221 5484
E: jennyf@uow.edu.au 

Chemical transport modeling of atmospheric composition and mercury biogeochemistry. Integration of model output with observational datasets including surface, airborne, and satellite. Focus on atmospheric impacts of human activity, natural processes, and their interactions.

View my publications button for Jenny Fisher

Prof. David Griffith
P: +61 2 4221 3515
E: david_griffith@uow.edu.au  

Atmospheric composition, especially greenhouse gases and their isotopic variations. Solar remote sensing, in situ measurements using optical (infrared) techniques. Sources and sinks of greenhouse gas emissions, especially in agriculture. Validation of satellite measurements of greenhouse gases.

View my publications button for David Griffith

Dr. Elise-Andree Guerette
P: +61 2 4221 5808
E: guerette@uow.edu.au 

Investigating impacts of trace gases on air quality. In situ measurements of volatile organic compounds. Evaluation and verification of meteorological and chemical transport models, with a focus on regional air quality.

Dr. Nicholas Jones
P: +61 2 4221 5808
E: njones@uow.edu.au 

Remote sensing of atmospheric composition using ground-based methods (NDACC). Validation of satellite data relevant to atmospheric chemistry (e.g. ACE, GOME, SCIAMACHY, ENVISAT). Mathematical inverse methods as applied to analysis of spectroscopic data. Development of analysis code from spectroscopic data (SFIT4).

View my publications button for Nicholas Jones

Dr. Frances Phillips
P: +61 2 4221 4104
E: francesp@uow.edu.au 

Quantifying local sources of greenhouse gases to the atmosphere, with focus on agricultural systems and methods for mitigating emissions. Interest in developing methods to measure fugitive emissions from coal mining and coal seam gas production.

View my publications button for Frances Phillips

Dr. Voltaire Velazco
P: +61 2 4221 5808
E: voltaire@uow.edu.au 

Remote-sensing of atmospheric trace gases (TCCON). Validation of Earth-observing satellites (SCIAMACHY, ACE, GOSAT & OCO-2). Transport analysis using the STILT model. Pollution hotspot identification for future satellites (GOSAT-2 & CarbonSat).

View my publications button for Voltaire Velazco

A/Prof. Stephen Wilson
P: +61 2 4221 3505
E: stephen_wilson@uow.edu.au 

Spectroscopic studies of atmospheric chemistry, including irradiance measurements, aerosol optical depth and differential optical absorption spectroscopy. Studies of regions from the clean marine through to urban atmospheres.

View my publications button for Stephen Wilson

 

CAC Associate Members

Dr Rebecca Buchholz
E: buchholz@ucar.edu

Postdoctoral Fellow, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Honorary Postdoc Research Associate Fellow, School of Chemistry, UOW

Dr Scott Chambers
E: szc@ansto.gov.au

ANSTO
Honorary Fellow, School of Chemistry, UOW

Dr Ian Galbally
E: galbally@uow.edu.au

Honorary Professorial Fellow, UOW
Post Retirement Fellow, CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere

Dr Alan Griffiths
E: agf@ansto.gov.au

ANSTO
Honorary Fellow, School of Chemistry, UOW

Dr Ruhi Humphries
E: Ruhi.Humphries@csiro.au

Postdoctoral Fellow, CSIRO
Honorary Fellow, UOW

Dr Sam Marx
P: +61 2 4221 5318
E: smarx@uow.edu.au

School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, UOW

Dr Khalia Monk
E: khalia.monk@environment.nsw.gov.au

NSW Office of Environment and Heritage

Dr Ann Stavert
E: Ann.stavert@csiro.au

CSIRO
Honorary Fellow, UOW

Dr George Takacs
P: +61 2 4221 4897
E: gjt@uow.edu.au

School of Physics, UOW

Dr Nsikanabasi Umo
E: numo@uow.edu.au

Alexander von Humboldt Fellow, Germany
Honorary Fellow, School of Chemistry, UOW

Dr Alastair Williams
P: +61 2 9717 3694
E: alastair.williams@ansto.gov.au

Research Leader, ANSTO
Honorary Fellow, School of Chemistry, UOW

CAC Research Students

James Bezzina
E: jpb661@uowmail.edu.au

PhD Thesis:
Photochemistry and Reactivity of N-Substituted Aromatic Biomolecules

Cameron Bright
E: ccb521@uowmail.edu.au

PhD Thesis:
Branching pathways of nitrogen substituted aromatic-radical reactions

Beata Bukosa
E: bb907@uowmail.edu.au 

PhD Thesis:
Modelling of Greenhouse Gases in Australia and the Globe on Multiple Scales.

Doreena Dominick 
E: dd824@uowmail.edu.au 

PhD Thesis:
Aerosols and Air Quality.

Jesse Greenslade  
E: jwg366@uowmail.edu.au 

PhD Thesis:
Measurements and Modelling of Atmospheric Ozone and Volatile Organic Compounds Over Australia.

Neil Page
E: ncp532@uowmail.edu.au 

PhD Thesis:
Improving the representation of atmospheric Mercury over the Southern Ocean in GEOS-Chem.

Matthew Prendergast
E: mbp163@uowmail.edu.au

PhD Thesis:
Studies of Aromatic Fuel Additive Chemistry for Modern Transport Fuels

 

CAC Research and Technical Support

Chris Caldow
E: ccaldow@uow.edu.au

Graham Kettlewell
E: grahamk@uow.edu.au

Travis Naylor
E: naylort@uow.edu.au

Last reviewed: 23 January, 2019