Justin Yerbury 2013 Profile

Dr Justin Yerbury

PhD UOW,  BSc (Hons - First Class) UOW

Lab Phone:  +61 2 42981944
Lab:   B32.210
Office Phone:  +61 2 42981534
Office:  B32.229


  • Senior Research Fellow

Research Interests

  • Protein misfolding, aggregation and neurodegenerative disease
  • Protein aggregation and neuro-inflammation
  • Propagation of protein misfolding
  • Protein homeostasis and Motor Neurone Disease

Representative Publications

Roberts K, Zeineddine R, Corcoran L, Li W, Campbell IL, Yerbury JJ. (2013) Extracellular aggregated Cu/Zn superoxide dismutase activates microglia to give a cytotoxic phenotype. Glia. 61 (3), 409-419.

Yerbury JJ, Gower D, Vanags L, Roberts K, Lee J, Ecroyd H. (2013) The small heat shock proteinsB-crystallin and Hsp27 suppress SOD1 aggregation in vitro. Cell Stress and Chaperones. 18(2), 251-257.

Bolognesi, B, Kumita JR, Barros TP, Esbjörner EK, Luheshi LM, Crowther DC, Wilson MR, Dobson CM, Favrin G & Yerbury JJ. (2010) ANS Binding Reveals Common Features of Cytotoxic Amyloid Species. ACS Chemical Biology. 2010 Aug 20;5(8):735-40.

Wilson MR, Yerbury JJ, Poon S. (2008) The role of extracellular chaperones in amyloid formation. Molecular BioSystems. 4, 42-52.

Yerbury, JJ, Poon, S, Meehan, S, Thompson, B, Kumita, JR, Dobson, CM and Wilson, MR. (2007) The extracellular chaperone clusterin influences amyloid formation and toxicity by interacting with pre-fibrillar structures. FASEB Journal 21: 2312-22 (IF 6.791, ranked 31/263)

Yerbury JJ, Stewart EM, Wyatt AR, Wilson MR. (2005) Quality control of protein folding in extracellular space. EMBO Reports 6: 1131-1136

Full list of publications:

Searchable publications

Current Students


  • Kate Roberts:Investigating the role of SOD1 in neuro-inflammation in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Rafaa Zeineddine:The Prion-Like Action of Disease Proteins in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis: An Infectious Idea
  • Isabella Lambert smith:Are Proteostasis defects responsible for Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis

Co-supervised PhD students

  • Rebecca Brown (Mark Wilson):Determining the role of Chaperones on TDP-43 aggregation in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Rachael Bartlett (Ron Sluyter):The P2X7 receptor and motor neuron disease
  • Daniel Whiten (Mark Wilson):TDP43, protein homeostasis in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Luke McAlary (Andrew Aquilina):SOD1 dimer dissociation and Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

Current Staff - Research Assistants

  • Lisa Corcoran
  • Natalie Farrawell

Future Topics for Students

  • Determining the role of protein homeostasis in Motor Neurone Disease
  • Developing stem cell derived motor neurones to study MND
  • Investigating the role of protein aggregation in Motor Neurone Disease progression



  • Mark Wilson, Andrew Aquilina and Heath Ecroyd (UOW)
  • Proteostasis and Disease Research Centre
  • Danny Hatters, University of Melbourne
  • Brad Turner, University of Melbourne
  • Julie Atkin, La Trobe
  • Ian Blair, Macquarie University
  • Iain Campbell, University of Sydney
  • Fiona McKay, Millennium Institute


  • Christopher Dobson, University of Cambridge
  • Janet Kumita, University of Cambridge
  • Steve Oliver, University of Cambridge
  • Giorgio Favrin, University of Cambridge
  • Neil Cashman, University of British Columbia

Abbreviated CV

Employment History

  • DECRA Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Wollongong, 2012-
  • Bill Gole Motor Neurone Disease Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Wollongong, 2009 - 2012
  • ARC International Linkage Fellow, University of Cambridge, UK 2008-2009
  • Lecturer/Research Fellow, University of Wollongong, 2008
  • Research Assistant, University of Wollongong, 2002-2003

Academic Degrees

  • PhD, University of Wollongong, 2008
  • BSc (Hons) (First class) University of Wollongong, 2004

Prizes, Fellowships and Awards

  • Lorne Conference on Protein Structure and Function Young Investigator Prize, 2012
  • Vice Chancellor’s Emerging Researcher of the Year award, 2011
  • Bill Gole Postdoctoral MND Research Fellowship, 2009
  • Australian Research Council International Linkage Fellowship, 2008
  • The Australian Society for Medical Research Young Investigator Award, 2004


Last reviewed: 28 August, 2018